Pathfinding countries are those whose government leaders do two things:

  1. Make a formal, public commitment to comprehensive action to end all forms of violence against children; and
  2. Request to become a Pathfinder within the Global Partnership.

Within 18 months of Pathfinding status being confirmed by the End Violence Secretariat, Pathfinding country governments are expected to:

  1. Appoint a senior government focal point to lead the in-country process;
  2. Convene and support a multi-stakeholder group;
  3. Collect, structure and analyse data on VAC;
  4. Develop an evidence-based and costed National Action Plan (NAP) that sets commitments for 3-5 years, and a related resource mobilization plan; and
  5. Consult with children and adhere to Partnership standards on child participation.

The Partnership currently has 26 Pathfinding countries. To achieve SDG 16.2 by 2030, many more countries need to begin planning to take comprehensive action to end violence against children. Any country which meets the Pathfinding criteria will be invited to join the Partnership.

  1. Armenia
  2. Brazil
  3. Cambodia
  4. Canada
  5. Colombia
  6. Cote d'Ivoire
  7. El Salvador
  8. Georgia
  9. Honduras
  10. Indonesia
  11. Jamaica
  12. Japan
  13. Mexico
  14. Mongolia
  15. Montenegro 
  16. Nigeria
  17. Paraguay
  18. Peru
  19. Philippines 
  20. Romania 
  21. South Africa
  22. Sri Lanka
  23. Sweden
  24. Tanzania
  25. UAE 
  26. Uganda